Toebosch, Louis

Louis Toebosch was born in 1916 at Maastricht. He died on May 22, 2009. He studied at the School for Church Music in Utrecht, the Music Lyceum in Maastricht and the ...

related works

Prélude, Air varié, Final : pour le carillon, opus 120, 1981 / Louis Toebosch

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Carillon
Instruments: car

Missa : for organ / Spiros Mazis

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Organ
Instruments: org

Diaspora : per organo, (1969) / Daniel Manneke

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Organ
Instruments: org

Sextetto, Canon en Choral : voor orgel (solo of vierhandig) / Johannes Gijsbertus Bastiaans

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Organ
Instruments: org4h



Resistance : for organ, opus 134, 1985, (rev. 1987) / Louis Toebosch

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, cop. 1986
Publisher's number: 02638
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Organ
Instruments: org
Remarks: Voorw. tevens in het Duits. - In opdracht van het Fonds voor de Scheppende Toonkunst. - Opgedragen aan Huub ten Hacken. - Tijdsduur: ca. 12'
Duration: 12'00"
Number of players: 1
Year of composition: 1985
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Program note (English): The cry which this work starts - a fierce, sustained jarring chord - forms an essential component of this composition which wants to give expression to the resistance against every kind of dictatorship whether religious, political, social or cultural. This accounts for the many ostinato figures in this composition for organ. The central part consists of 5 arias - in this context arguments would be more appropriate - in an ever more coercive and fiercer idiom. They result in a fast passage which finally rises by jumps. From this a quasi-merry melody develops which nevertheless contains the same elements which characterized the opening scream. Neither the temptation of a chorale, nor the tantalizing chordel passages can break the resistance. The final climax shows this quite clearly. While composing this piece I couldn't help thinking of Edvard Munch's painting 'The Cry.' Possibly my musical cry has become a translation of that soundless painters' cry. - LOUIS TOEBOSCH

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A4), 22 pages EUR 12.55
Download as PDF (A4), 22 pages EUR 15.06
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 22 pages EUR 25.10