5 pieces of 4 and more

The collection of pieces presented here is especially aimed at ‘classical’ ensembles looking for music that allows for more flexibility of interpretation, more input from the players, and improvisation with the whole ensemble. In this book you will find 5 pieces for quartet, or rather, 5 pieces for 4 voices, as each voice can be played by multiple instruments. All 5 pieces have sections where the musicians are invited to improvise using a given set of notes and/or rhythms. There are specific tips, tricks and directions for each piece which can be found on the page before a piece starts.

About the Webshop

Donemus Publishing

In this webshop the works from Donemus Publishing are available. Donemus has existed in several forms since 1947 and has published works of over 600 Dutch composers. More information about Donemus and the webshop is available at the Donemus website.

Welcome to the Donemus webshop!

The webshop of Donemus makes the entire catalogue of over 14.000 works that Donemus manages accessible. Many of these works have already been digitized and can be purchased and downloaded immediately. Please look around in the catalogue and preview some works!

Do you need help? A list of frequently asked questions is available on the Donemus website.
Do you need more help? Please contact webshop@donemus.nl.

Latest editions

  1. Get it while it's hot! : for string quartet and electric guitar / Chiel Meijering
  2. Zuleikha : for voice and piano / Sem Dresden; words by Mirza-Schaffy (Mirza Shafi Vazeh)
  3. Wintergang : for voice and piano / Sem Dresden; words by Paul Remers
  4. Wilt heden nu treden : for mixed choir / Sem Dresden
  5. Wilhelmus van Nassouwe : for mixed choir / Sem Dresden
  6. Wiegenlied : for voice and piano / Sem Dresden; words by Henrik Ibsen
  7. Wenn ich ein Vöglein wär? : for voice and piano / Sem Dresden
  8. Weist du - wo? : for voice and piano / Sem Dresden; words by Karl Ernst Knodt
  9. Wachterlied : voor gemengd koor / Sem Dresden; Onbekend dichter 14e eeuw
  10. Vrees niet, gij klein kuddeke : for mixed choir / Sem Dresden

Popular works

  1. Ai Quaquín, que has vengut de prim! (Sainet in one act) : Music theatre for solos, mixed choir and orchestra / Antoni Mª. Servera (arr. F. Xavier Gelabert i Muntaner); text by Sebastià Rubí
  2. Sevdah : for bassoon / David Mastikosa
  3. Complete Works for Piano II : 2 players four hands or two pianos / Dick Kattenburg
  4. Canto Ostinato : voor toetsinstrumenten, 1976-79 / Simeon ten Holt
  5. Ritratto : Orchestral suite / Willem Jeths
  6. On the Shore of North Vidzeme (Ziemeļvidzemes krastā) : for harpsichord (or piano) and saxophone quartet / Georgs Pelecis
  7. Symphony Nº 10 (Unfinished) : Chronological Transcriptions of the Sketches, Short Scores and Orchestral Drafts / Gustav Mahler; Frans Bouwman, editor
  8. Complete Works for Piano I : for piano solo / Dick Kattenburg
  9. Enduring like a tree under the curious stars : for mixed choir / Jobina Tinnemans
  10. Chords Étude : for piano / Nimrod Borenstein