Flothuis, Marius

“The title of Flothuis' 'Zoeken naar zuiverheid en schoonheid' [Search for purity and beauty], his 'in memoriam' for his friend Witold Lutoslawski, could actually also stand as the motto of ...

related works

24 capriccio's voor viool solo

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Violin
Instruments: vl

Entrata giocosa : due trombe, corno e trombone, 1952 / Henri Zagwijn

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Brass Ensemble (2-8 players)
Instruments: h 2trp trb

Cassation - paraphrase : voor kopersextet, 1984 / Ludwig Otten

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Brass Ensemble (2-8 players)
Instruments: 3trp 3trb

Fanfare : for trombone and tuba, 1993 / Boudewijn Tarenskeen

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Brass Ensemble (2-8 players)
Instruments: trb tb



Sonatine : voor trompet, hoorn en trombone, opus 26, 1945 / Marius Flothuis

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, cop. 1946
Publisher's number: 01764
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Brass Ensemble (2-8 players)
Instruments: h trp trb
Remarks: Tijdsduur: 6'
Duration: 6'00"
Number of players: 3
Year of composition: 1945
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Allegro giojoso
Program note (English): This Sonatina was written at the suggestion of my friend Georges Caraël, a Belgian horn player, which whom I shared German imprisonment in 1944 and 1945. The first and second movement were written during the last week of our stay in the concentration camp of Oranienburg in April 1945, the two others immediately after the liberation; I completed them on May 12th, in Schwerin. I don't think there is any connection between the character of the music and the circumstances in which it was written. I tried to write something very simple, something that should be a pleasure to play and to hear. In bar 99-102 I inserted a tune which was sung by a blackbird thus accompanying our happy feelings after the liberation. - MARIUS FLOTHUIS

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A4), 12 pages EUR 9.80
Download as PDF (A4), 12 pages EUR 11.76
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 12 pages EUR 19.60
Parts Download to Newzik (A4), 18 pages EUR 11.45
Download as PDF (A4), 18 pages EUR 13.74
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 18 pages EUR 22.90