Flothuis, Marius

“The title of Flothuis' 'Zoeken naar zuiverheid en schoonheid' [Search for purity and beauty], his 'in memoriam' for his friend Witold Lutoslawski, could actually also stand as the motto of ...

related works

24 capriccio's voor viool solo

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Violin
Instruments: vl

Circles Around a Broken Dream : String quartet Nº 1 / Rieteke Hölscher

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: String Quartet (2 violins, viola, cello)
Instruments: 2vn vla vc

Sonatine : voor hobo (viool/clarinet), viool, altviool, cello, 1961 / Hans Osieck

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-12 players); String Quartet (2 violins, viola, cello)
Instruments: ob/cl/vl vl vla vc

Hymn : Version for improvising string quartet / Ned McGowan

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: String Quartet (2 violins, viola, cello)
Instruments: 2vl vla vc



Kwartet : twee violen, altviool, violoncel, opus 44, 1952 / Marius Flothuis

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, cop. 1952
Publisher's number: 01129
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: String Quartet (2 violins, viola, cello)
Instruments: 2vl vla vc
Remarks: Tijdsduur: 21'
Duration: 21'00"
Number of players: 4
Year of composition: 1952
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Allegro impetuoso
Allegro appassionato
Allegretto leggiero
Finale (Poco adagio)
Program note (English): This string quartet is dedicated to my wife.
It adheres rather closely to the "germ-cell technique" which, in Holland was inaugurated by Willem Pijper (1884-1947). In all its five movements a motif of two notes only (a descending semitone) links up all the themes.
When this work was first performed, one of the listeners said about the final movement: "at the end everything comes right". This was a very sensible observation and it says more about the "contents" of the work as a whole than I can do when describing the course of the musical ideas. The attentive listener will be able to notice that in this case the usual "first movement" is split up into two movements, the first and the third; that the Allegretto leggiero is an intermezzo taking the place of the usual Scherzo; and that in the final movement elements of the preceding ones recur, which means that it sums up all that happened before and thus leads on to a more balanced state of mind and soul in the concluding Andante maestoso. Especially in the last movement the germ-motif appears in ascending form and comprises a whole tone instead of a semitone. - MARIUS FLOTHUIS

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A4), 34 pages EUR 15.85
Download as PDF (A4), 34 pages EUR 19.02
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 34 pages EUR 31.70
Parts Download to Newzik (B4), 45 pages EUR 23.00
Download as PDF (B4), 45 pages EUR 27.60
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 45 pages EUR 46.00