Knehans, Douglas

Though first known through his collaboration with director Barrie Kosky in the Opera Australia production of his The Ascension of Robert Flau (1990), Douglas Knehans (b. 1957) is perhaps best ...

related works

Cloud Ossuary : Symphony Nº 4 for soprano and orchestra / Douglas Knehans; words by Katarina Knehans

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and orchestra
Instruments: sop eh tpt 2perc hp str

Six concertos, opus V / edited by Robert L. Tusler, Willem de Fesch

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Flute and string orchestra; Violin and string orchestra
Instruments: str bc 2fl-solo : str bc vl-solo

Sinfonia concertante : for two violins and strings, 1984-1987 / Carlos Micháns

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Violin and string orchestra
Instruments: str 2vl-solo

Concerto per due violini ed orchestra a corda : (1970-71) / Oscar van Hemel

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Violin and string orchestra
Instruments: str 2vl-solo



Mist Waves : Version for violin and strings / Douglas Knehans

Publisher's number: 21474
Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Violin and string orchestra
Instruments: vn-solo str
Remarks: Dedicated to the wonderful British violinist Madeline Mitchell in commemoration of her 2019 visit to the United States.
Duration: 7'00"
Year of composition: 2019
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Mist Waves is a kind of loose chaconne whose veiled repetition of the initial eight bars forms the basis for the work. Sometimes this initial idea is repeated entirely, sometimes truncated sometimes expanded and all of the time at close interplay with the freely evolving violin line which acts as the expressive core of the work.
Mist Waves is really about land-based cloud and how this forms in waves sometimes thick and predictable and at other times lightening up and revealing more to us. This serves as a metaphor for me of a type of human consciousness and how things are known and unknown to us in mixtures—sometimes equal, frequently unequal—which creates the mystery and magic of life.
Douglas Knehans

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A4), 12 pages EUR 9.80
Download as PDF (A4), 12 pages EUR 11.76
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 12 pages EUR 19.60