Kulenty, Hanna

Hanna Kulenty was born on March 18, 1961 in Białystok (Poland). Education: From 1980 to 1986, she studied composition with Włodzimierz Kotoński at the Chopin Music Academy in Warsaw. From 1986 ...

related works

VAN... : for piano quatre mains (or two pianos) / Hanna Kulenty

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Piano 4 hands
Instruments: pf

Deux psaumes et trois chansons : pour chant et guitare / (d'après Constantin Huygens), [réal.] Jan Maarten Komter

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and instrument(s)
Instruments: sopr-m g

Chamber Music : voor sopraan (of tenor), fluit, klarinet, viool en piano / André Laporte; after J. Joyce

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and instrument(s)
Instruments: zang fl cl vn pf

Invitation to eternity : for soprano, clarinet, violoncello and piano, 2002 / words: John Clare, Jacques Bank

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and instrument(s)
Instruments: sopr cl vc pf



Musique Surrealistique : for soprano, clarinet and piano / music and text by Hanna Kulenty Majoor

Publisher's number: 17772
Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and instrument(s)
Instruments: sopr cl pf
Duration: 9'00"
Number of players: 3
Year of composition: 2018
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Other authors:
Kulenty, Hanna (librettist)
„Musique Surrealistique” – is not only the title of this piece. It is also my new style in composition since a few years. I mix different emotions, expressions, sometimes even using different styles – to create one-compact and very strong emotionally and formally musical trans. I would say – my own „collage” of my own emotions, expressions – put in the perfect form and perfect time! Simply said: the message in the right form and right time.
I prefer to use the „sound of the nature” (simply said), to imitate this, to transform this into my music, in my way, than to „base” (let’s say) on humans… – simply said – to imitate the creations of humans. I have big respect for the nature, and I realise, that the human-being is only the small part of it… Although I never ignore the tradition in music!
Music which was made by geniuses for years I respect very much! I respect this anyway, what is good, what works good, what moves us, what doesn’t destroy emotions, what doesn’t destroy the order of de nature, of the universe. What doesn’t destroy the music in general! Although not every combination of sounds is music, like not every combination of words is the poetry?…
I want to create and I want to experience in music the feeling of catharsis – no matter when it was created…So, once more: in my music one will find a sort of „collages” of my emotions, expressions, put in right form and right time! Time for me has a crucial meaning in music anyway. I organise my musical material in such a way, that the emotional gestures – which we know from the past – are used in surrealistic way. Like on the paintings of surrealists – we look at the subject, we think we know what we see, but it looks different, strange… And of course my „big bow” to the nature… which I respect most.
Of course I use gestures of emotion, also from the past. Why not? I am surrealist in music, but not a sur-conventionalist. I don’t „work” in any conventions in general, but if my emotional musical gestures touch any convention „by accident” – like for example baroque music – I use it. The conventions in any composers techniques are for me not the priority, but if something works good and at this moment I need to express something in my music – I do not hesitate to use it.
In this composition „Musique Surrealistique” I present fragments of my statement about the art – in general, and I present my statement about the surrealism – which I consider also as an equivalent of art anyway. This text I wrote about a year ago.
The music material: the harmonic and melodic lines are the same in the whole piece, but appear in different „times dimensions”, I would say slow-motion time dimension, very slow-motion time dimension, fast, and very fast time dimension. (You can read and hear more:
Hanna Kulenty Majoor, 6 Februari 2018

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (B4), 32 pages EUR 18.64
Download as PDF (B4), 32 pages EUR 22.37
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 32 pages EUR 37.29
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 32 pages EUR 30.60
Parts Download to Newzik (B4), 14 pages EUR 12.61
Download as PDF (B4), 14 pages EUR 15.13
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 14 pages EUR 25.23