Andriessen, Louis

Louis Andriessen was born in Utrecht on June 6, 1939. Education: After an early training in composition with his father, composer Hendrik Andriessen, he continued his studies with Kees van Baaren ...

related works

Nuit d'été : voor piano vierhandig, 1957 / Louis Andriessen

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Piano 4 hands
Instruments: pf4h

Divertimento : voor klarinet en piano, 1980 / Henk van der Vliet

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Clarinet and keyboard instrument
Instruments: cl pf

Doubles V : for clarinet and piano / David Rowland

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Clarinet and keyboard instrument
Instruments: cl pf

Sonatine : altviool of klarinet en piano, 1952 / Hans Osieck

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Viola and keyboard instrument; Clarinet and keyboard instrument
Instruments: vla/cl pf



Double : for clarinet and piano, Berlin 1965 / by Louis Andriessen

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, cop. 1965
Publisher's number: 01700
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Clarinet and keyboard instrument
Instruments: cl pf
Remarks: In opdracht van de Stichting Cultuurfonds Buma. - Opgedragen aan George Pieterson en Tan Crone
Duration: 8'00"
Number of players: 2
Year of composition: 1965
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Program note (English): Double is in one movement. The first five minutes are laid down exactly. The second half of the piece is a variation (Double) in the first five minutes. Both instrumentalists play for about four minutes independently of another and according to their choice from the material in their part (the pianist also having at his disposal the clarinet part) until a 'signal' by the pianist announces the end of the work. Double also means 'doubling'. Both parts are independent of another, standing on their own of equal value. The piano part derives to a large extent from Ittrospezione III for two pianos and three instrumental groups (1964), to which the clarinet part was added later in such a way that each bar could be combined with every other bar. The basic material does not consist of melodic twelve-tone series, but of twelve-tone chords constructed from major sevenths and minor ninths.- LOUIS ANDRIESSEN

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (B4), 16 pages EUR 13.28
Download as PDF (B4), 16 pages EUR 15.94
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 16 pages EUR 26.57
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 16 pages EUR 21.80
Parts Download to Newzik (B4), 6 pages EUR 9.93
Download as PDF (B4), 6 pages EUR 11.92
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 6 pages EUR 19.87