Rore, Cipriano De

Cipriano De Rore was a Flemish composer who was born in 1515/6 in Ronse, a small town between Brussels and Courtrai (Belgium, in the 16th century The Netherlands). He moved ...

related works

26 Secular & Religious Motets (Volume I) : for 4, 5, 6 and 8 voices / Cipriano de Rore; transcribed and edited by Cees Wagemakers

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK

Lofsang : Ex minimis patet ipse Deus, voor gemengd koor / Alexander Voormolen

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK4

Jaarkrans : voor gemengd kamerkoor a cappella / Henri Zagwijn

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK4

Nightingales : for mixed choir a cappella, 1989 / poem by Robert Bridges, Lowell Dijkstra

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK8



First Book of Madrigals : for 4 voices / Perissone Cambio and Cipriano De Rore, published by Antonio Gardano (Venice 1547); transcribed and edited by Cees Wagemakers

Publisher's number: 16973
Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK
Remarks: Early Music Edition. Single titles available separately.
Year of composition: published 1547
Status: Unique collection of Renaissance manuscripts transposed to contemporary notation. Hundreds of vocal works that had been hidden away in various libraries across Europe, now available for the first time, thanks to tireless work of editor Cees Wagemakers.

Other authors:
Cambio, Perissone (composer)
Gardano, Antonio (curator)
Wagemakers, Cees (editor)
Io mi son bell’ & cruda (2’)
S’ el ciel donna non vede (1’30”)
Come potro fidarmi (2’30”)
In qual parte del ciel (2’15”)
Per divina bellezza (1’45”)
Cantai mentre ch’ i arsi (3’)
Più volte gia - Ond’ io non puote mai (4’)
Occhi leggiadri (1’30”)
Nel partir del mio ben (1’45”)
Ove col s’ Amor l’ oro - Da quali angeli (4’)
Non di terrestre donna (1’45”)
Vaga tranquilla e lieta (1’15”)
Se mai fu crudo (2’15”)
Sapete amanti (1’30”)
Pien d’ un vago pensier (1’45”)
Ben s’ io non erro (1’45”)
Amor da che tu voi - Gentil copia eccellente (3’15”)
Fresche herbe (3’)
Cipriano de Rore: Quel foco che tant’ anni (2’)
Cipriano de Rore: Com’ havran fin (1’45”)
Cipriano de Rore: Anchor che col partire (2’)
Io amai sempre - Ma chi penso (3’)
O perverso d’ Amor (1’45”)
Che giova posseder (1’45”)
Duo più potenti lumi (1’45”)
Chi mett’ il pie (2’15”)
Chiara luce serena (2’45”)
Perche la vita e breve (1’45”)
Perissone published four books of secular music, from which this is the first. He was a skilled and versatile stylist, varying from the smooth Flemish polyphony to large chordal textures. In several madrigals we find a chordal sequence that is rather specific for him: e.g. e-A-G in stead of the common d-A-D. And many madrigals start with a major chord on the second. Rather unusual and very specific for Perissone.
Cees Wagemakers, 2018

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A4), 100 pages EUR 34.00
Download as PDF (A4), 100 pages EUR 40.80
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 100 pages EUR 68.00