Carey, Ross James

Ross James Carey is a composer and pianist. Born in Lower Hutt, New Zealand in 1969, he has been teaching at universities in Malaysia since 2010. As both a composer ...

related works

Nine Poems from "Meeting the Comet" : for countertenor or mezzo-soprano and piano / Ross James Carey; poems by Fleur Adcock

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and piano
Instruments: voc pf

The Legend of Kwahkaazuh : for piano : opus 58 / Marijn Simons, 2009

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Piano
Instruments: pf

Romance voor piano / Canon in 8 met vrije stemmen : for piano / Sem Dresden

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Piano
Instruments: pf

And the Monkey Dances, Dances, Dances : for prepared piano / Albert van Veenendaal

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Piano
Instruments: pf



Hommage à Haydn : for piano / Ross James Carey

Publisher's number: 15192
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Piano
Instruments: pf
Duration: 2'50"
Number of players: 1
Year of composition: 2009
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

The title of the work comes from Debussy’s solo piano piece Hommage à Haydn composed in 1909, one of a number of commissioned works written to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Haydn's death. Debussy’s homage was the initial inspiration for me to compose my own homage to the classical master.
Like the Debussy piece, my homage utilises the HAYDN quotation-signature (in musical tones B-A-D-D-G) as the basis for its musical material. A nine-note form of this motif (HADNHAYDN) forms the ostinato heard as a moto perpetuo in the treble throughout most of the piece. Formally, the piece is in cyclic form. The left hand elaborates melodic material derived from the quotation-signature above several pedal points, with the motif eventually modulating to a whole-tone variant followed by a series of sustained chords which, as in Debussy’s homage, signals the works' close.

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A4), 14 pages EUR 10.35
Download as PDF (A4), 14 pages EUR 12.42
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 14 pages EUR 20.70