Schat, Peter

Peter Schat is one of the most colourful and widely-known Dutch composers of the 20th century. He was born in Utrecht, the son of a Protestant baker, and knew from ...

related works

Reconstructie : een moraliteit / door Louis Andriessen, Hugo Claus, Reinbert de Leeuw, Misja Mengelberg, Harry Mulisch, Peter Schat en Jan van Vlijmen

Genre: Opera, musical theatre
Subgenre: Musical
Instruments: soloists 3GK4 rec 0340 3sax 0331 2g el.cemb cembalet clavinet pianet 2pf 4vla 5vc cb electronics

Quintetto : per flauto, oboe, clarinetto, fagotto e corno, 1956 / Berend Giltay

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Wind Quintet
Instruments: fl ob cl h fg

Hermitage : voor blaaskwintet, 1982 / Roland Voortman

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Wind Quintet
Instruments: fl ob cl h fg

Pulsations : for woodwind quintet / Walter Hekster

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Wind Quintet
Instruments: fl ob cl h fg



Improvisations and symphonies : for wind quintet, (opus 11), (1960) / Peter Schat

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, [1982]
Publisher's number: 01504
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Wind Quintet
Instruments: fl ob cl h fg
Remarks: In opdracht van het Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst t.g.v. het 50-jarig bestaan van het Genootschap van Nederlandse Componisten. - Opgedragen aan het Danzi Kwintet. - In memoriam Mátyàs Seiber. - Cop. 1960. - Tijdsduur: ca. 16'
Duration: 16'00"
Number of players: 5
Year of composition: 1960
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Program note (English): The improvisations and the symphonies follow each other without a break. These two principles of expression are naturally determining factors, not only of the rough form, but of the entire musical idiom and notation (treatment of the series and such like).
After the first part a 'theatrical' element is introduced into the composition. The ensemble disperses, the various performers taking their places far removed from one another. The flute, oboe and clarinet are 'mobile'. From their midst a leader is appointed, either chosen by lot or as the result of an arrangement made beforehand: he goes to all the instruments in turn, meanwhile directing the other mobile players to a sixth music-stand. Thus the 'promenades' originate, the duos and finally the trio. Then the horn and bassoon (the fixed elements) direct the three mobile performers back to their places.
The last 'symphony' then follows immediately. - PETER SCHAT

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A3), 50 pages EUR 29.91
Download as PDF (A3), 50 pages EUR 35.89
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 50 pages EUR 59.83
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 50 pages EUR 40.50