Ruffo, Vincenzo

Vincenzo Ruffo was born in Verona around 1508 and became a priest there in 1531. In the same year as the publication of his first book of music in 1542 ...

related works

The Third Book of Madrigals : for 5 voices / Vincenzo Ruffo (and some other composers); transcribed and edited by Cees Wagemakers

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK

Book of Motets : for 4 voices / Ivo de Vento; transcribed and edited by Cees Wagemakers

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK

Wie is Lilith : voor sopraan, mezzosopraan, alt, tenor en bariton, 1997 / op teksten van Lucebert, Bernard van Beurden

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Vocal Ensemble (2-12); Mixed choir
Instruments: sopr sopr-m alt ten bar / GK5

Black : for mixed choir, 1981 / words and music: Tera de Marez Oyens

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK4



The Third Book of Madrigals : for 5 voices / Vincenzo Ruffo (and some other composers); transcribed and edited by Cees Wagemakers

Publisher's number: 14662
Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK
Remarks: Early Music Edition. Single titles available separately.
Year of composition: 1555
Status: Unique collection of Renaissance manuscripts transposed to contemporary notation. Hundreds of vocal works that had been hidden away in various libraries across Europe, now available for the first time, thanks to tireless work of editor Cees Wagemakers.

Other authors:
Wagemakers, Cees (editor)
Salve Hippolite - Non sei tu quel che sopr’ al sacro monte (5’15”)
Veggio ben quantto l’odio - S’ io vi son importuno (4’45”)
Valle che di lamenti miei (4’15”)
O di rara bellezza (Vicenzo Ferro) (2’30”)
D’ Amor le generose (3’)
Cor mio perche pur piangi (Vicenzo Ferro) (3’30”)
Qual mai più vagh’ e bella (Giaches Archadelt) (1’45”)
Perche piangi alma (Vicenzo Ferro) (2’15”)
Vergine santa (3’45”)
Vergine sol’ al mondo (4’)
Io che di viver sciolto - Nacque nell’ alm’ in tanto fier ardore (5’)
Vostro donn’ e ‘l peccato (1’45”)
Quand’ io penso (Francesco Rosselli) (4’30”)
Dunque morte crudel (Ioan. Pionnier) (5’)
Io che con mille frodi (Francesco Rosselli) (4’30”)
Piangete occhi miei lassi (Andrea Gabrieli) (3’45”)
Fugga ‘l dolor (2’45”)
Ditemi aure tranquille (3’)
Qual possanza (3’15)
Com’ esser puot’ Amore (3’15”)
Ben mille volte (3’45”)
Vaghi chiari soavi ardenti (4’15”)
Quella beltà maggiore (3’30”)
Ben mio cht mi ti toglie (4’15”)
In the 16th century there were two important music publishers in Venice: Scotto and Gardano. The composers whose work was printed did not have an exclusive contract with one publisher or another. While Gardano had the specialism of single-composer editions, Scotto was more specialized in anthologies. Nevertheless is the underlying book of madrigals by Vincenzo Ruffo (c. 1508-1587), printed at Gardano’s, completed with madrigals by some other composers. History tells us that Ruffo did not have the means (or the patron) to have his work printed until he got an appointment at the Accademia Filarmonica at Verona that he dedicated his first madigal book to. This book Madrigali a sei a sett et a otto voci was printed by Scotto in 1554. Around the same time as Scotto’s Scielta seconda appeared, Gardano marketed a Secondo Libro and a Terzo Libro of Ruffo’s five voice madrigals. This Terzo Libro turned out to be a reprint of Ruffo’s Scielta Seconda. Neither of these publications show a date of appearance nor a dedication, but through the typographical evidence, it must be 1554/5.
Gardano filled the book up with madrigals by some other composers - like he did earlier with Arcadelt and Rore editions - : Andrea Gabrieli, Francesco Rosselli (Roussel), Vincenzo Ferro, Giaches Arcadelt, Joannes Pionnier - just like Scotto had done in his edition of the Scielta seconda.
Ruffo got more and more marketable and reprints of his work show us that he got financial backing by both his printers.

Cees Wagemakers

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A4), 164 pages EUR 51.60
Download as PDF (A4), 164 pages EUR 61.92
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 164 pages EUR 103.20