Brewaeys, Luc

Luc Brewaeys was born on August 25, in 1959 in Mortsel (Belgium) and passed away on December 18, in 2015. Education: He studied composition with André Laporte in Brussels (Belgium), with ...

related works

Due cose belle ha il mondo: l’amore e la morte... : for piano solo, chamber orchestra and live-electronics / Luc Brewaeys

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra with electronics

Go (…go…go) : for chamber orchestra / Lewis Nielson

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: fl ob cl cl-b sax-a fg h tpt trb- t 3perc pf hp str

Eerste suite : uit het ballet Job / Jan Pouwels

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: 2222 3230 timp perc pf str

Jour de fête : pour orchestre, 1986 / Kees Olthuis

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: 3343 4331 timp 4perc 2hp str



.., e poi c’era… : Symphony Nº 1 / Luc Brewaeys

Publisher's number: 13656
Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: 3fl 3ob 3cl 3fg 4h 3trp 3trb tb 4perc hp pf perc
Duration: 15'00"
Year of composition: 1985
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

This work was composed in januari 1985 on request of my former teacher André Laporte to be originally first performed at the occasion of a EBU-concert in Madrid in december '85. That performance finally became the second, since the work received the 3rd Prize at the European Competition for Young Composers organized in Amsterdam and received its premiere on september 27, 1985 in the Cultural Center Hoogpoort in Groningen by the NOS Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by David PORCELIJN. The italian title means ".., and there there was...". It is because this composition was the first I wrote after a year of absolute (creative) silence. I used to compose in so-called post-serial style, exception made for one work ("Het Raadsel van de Sfinks" - "The Enigma of the Sphonx" - filmmusic for 6 Players) in which were elements of overtone-techniques, which are now a constance in my output. After this silence came ".., e poi c'era...". The work is in one single movement, divided into 5 sections, of which only the 4th is clearly different. The basic idea consists in a kind of noise -described by a Dutch critic as "an organ with leaky pipes"- based upon harmonics in the low string instriuments, their strings tuned even very 'loose', with percussion. This noise is very regularly "coloured" in the most diverse ways. It's actually not very much more than that, but elaborated until the smallest details. Everything is on the edge of the inaudible. After some 10 minutes comes a Tutti in fortissimo, followed by a huge crescendo. The last section is some sort of mirror of the start. The score end with a question mark : I supposed things would be clarified in "Komm! Hebe dich...", my Second Symphony. This Symphony is dedicated to my American friend and fellow-composer John Califra.

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A3), 32 pages EUR 22.44
Download as PDF (A3), 32 pages EUR 26.93
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 32 pages EUR 44.89
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 32 pages EUR 30.60