Simons, Marijn

Marijn Simons was born in The Netherlands on December 25, 1982. He studied violin with Prof. Saschko Gawriloff, composition with Daan Manneke and James MacMillan and conducting with Ed Spanjaard, ...

related works

Fire Column (Piano Concerto Nº 2) : for piano and string orchestra / Marijn Simons

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Piano and string orchestra
Instruments: pf str

Nocturne und Romanze : Für vier Violoncelli / Samuel de Lange jr.

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Cello
Instruments: 4vc

Rimpicciolimento : violoncello, 1985 / Huub Kerstens

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Cello
Instruments: vc

Cyclofonie XII : 8 celli, 1979 / Hans Kox

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Cello
Instruments: 8vc



Vita Fugax : for cello / Marijn Simons

Publisher's number: 12867
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Cello
Instruments: vc
Remarks: Opus 76.
Duration: 15'00"
Number of players: 1
Year of composition: 2013
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Vita Fugax means “fleeting life”. It was originally composed for campanula (a kind of cello with additional 16 resonating strings) for the former principal cellist of the Berlin Philharmonic Georg Faust. The campanula version has extended improvised sections. The cello and viola versions are reduced to the concretely written out passages.

The opening movement Secret Societies is a social commentary on “behind closed doors” politics and silly conspiracy theories.
The second movement Futurology is based on Stanislaw Lem’s novel The Futurological Congress.
The third movement Christian Extremism is a statement against extremism (of any sort), which unfortunately is still too much a part of our present society.
The final movement’s title A Fairy Story comes from a quote by a man I hugely admire, namely Stephen Hawking: “A belief that heaven or an afterlife awaits us is a fairy story for people afraid of death”. - Marijn Simons

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (B4), 32 pages EUR 18.64
Download as PDF (B4), 32 pages EUR 22.37
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 32 pages EUR 37.29
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 32 pages EUR 30.60