Escher, Rudolf

Rudolf Escher was a composer who wrote for the ear, rather than to conform to some extra-musical principle. He composed a relatively small oeuvre of orchestral pieces, chamber music and ...

related works

Le tombeau de Ravel : for flute, oboe, violin, viola, violoncello and harpsichord, 1952 (revised 1959) / Rudolf Escher

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-11 players)
Instruments: fl ob cemb vl vla vc

Cycli : for flute quartet, 1987 / Joost van de Goor

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Flute
Instruments: 2fl 2fl-a

Die Lian Hua : for flute / Austin Yip

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Flute
Instruments: fl

Nocturno en Pedraza : for flute and soundtracks, 1988 / Ton Bruynèl

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Flute; Electronics with different instruments; Flute with electronics
Instruments: fl tape



Monologue for flute : (1969) / Rudolf Escher

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, [1977]
Publisher's number: 01267
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Flute
Instruments: fl
Remarks: Met biografie. - In opdracht van de Nederlandse Regering. - Opgedragen aan Frans Vester. - Cop. 1970. - Tijdsduur: ca. 9'
Duration: 9'00"
Number of players: 1
Year of composition: 1969
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Program note (English): The Monologue for flute is closely related to the Quintetto a fiati, composed two years previously. The two works are so connected that the Monologue can be seen as a reduced variation of the Quintetto with one voice and two sections. When composing the Quintetto, much of the basis melodic material was left unused, so that later more compositions could be made. The Monologue for flute is one of these pieces. A similar structural relationship between the two pieces and the musical 'effect' is clearly audible when both works are performed (successively) during one concert. However, this is not a requirement. The melodic argument, from which the Monologue exists, is meant to be an independent musical account in two short chapters: the first slow section, the second section characterized by a fast movement. Dominant in both sections are certain melodic and rhythmical patterns, not in the form of themes and their repetition (the Monologue is, just as the Quintetto a fiati
a-thematic), but in form of a melodic working resulting from a continual varying and regrouping of shorter melodic units. - RUDOLF ESCHER

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (B4), 15 pages EUR 12.95
Download as PDF (B4), 15 pages EUR 15.54
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 15 pages EUR 25.90
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 15 pages EUR 21.25