Vriend, Jan

From the start, Jan Vriend has been a musical omnivore who combines a strongly modernistic approach with openness to the interests of and needs for a good musical education. ...

related works

Double Concerto : for piccolo, piano and orchestra / Jan Vriend

Genre: Unknown
Instruments: picc-solo pf-solo 3fl(picc) 2ob eh 2cl cl-b cl-cb 2fg cfg 4h 3tpt 2trb trb-b tb3perc synth str

Organconcerto : 1966 / Herald C. King

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Organ and large ensemble
Instruments: 0100 0330 timp 2vl vla vc cb org-solo

Music for organ and 12 players : Hilversum, winter 70-71 / Ton de Leeuw

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Organ and large ensemble
Instruments: fl-a(pic) cl(cl-b) 2h 2trp 2trb perc el.g g-b cb org-solo

First harmonium concerto : for harmonium and ensemble / Martijn Padding, 2008

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Organ and large ensemble
Instruments: fl(fl-b pic) fl cl(cl-b) 2sax h trp 2trb tb keyboard perc el.g g-b harm-solo



Huantan : for organ and wind orchestra, 1967/1968 / Jan Vriend

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, 2006
Publisher's number: 11414
Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Organ and large ensemble
Instruments: fl(pic) 3fl 3ob ob(eh) 2cl cl-b 3fg cfg 4h 4trp 4trb org-solo
Remarks: Voor orgel solo, 4 fluiten (1e tevens piccolo), 3 hobo's, althobo, es-klarinet, 2 klarinetten, basklarinet, 3 fagotten, contrafagot, 4 hoorns, 4 trompetten en 4 trombones. - In opdracht van de gemeente Amsterdam. - Opgedragen aan Iannis Xenakis. - Versie 2006. - Met voorw. - Cop. 1992. - Tijdsduur: ca. 13'
Duration: 13'00"
Number of players: 29
Year of composition: 1968
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Program note (English): Huantan, the universal medicine; a gold dust spread mistily like winddriven by rain through the five organs... (Chinese Alchemy - from: The History of Magic, Kurt Seligmann). Huantan has been written for five wind-groups, the organ included. The disposition of the four wood/brass groups is essential; all sorts of sound-movements, mainly turning to the right, in slow or fast movement, accelerating or retarding, regular or irregular, simplex or complex, have been carefully organized and arranged throughout the composition. The organ-part is based on a maximum number of variations on a program of 4 parameters: registration, ways of performance, movements of pitch and sound-lengths. This resulted in 72 independent fragments of pre-programmed length which have finally been put together in a certain development towards the end (roughly from solo-voices towards tutti at the end), on the basis of the results in the registration parameter. Underlying are obscure and with difficulty
revealing processes of blending and boiling a great variety of ingredients. The alchemist's secret: "Learn about the egg and cut it with a flaming sword". - JAN VRIEND

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A3), 52 pages EUR 30.74
Download as PDF (A3), 52 pages EUR 36.89
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 52 pages EUR 61.49
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 52 pages EUR 41.60
Parts Download to Newzik (B4), 237 pages EUR 87.32
Download as PDF (B4), 237 pages EUR 104.78
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 237 pages EUR 174.64