Kruisselbrink, Astrid

Astrid Kruisselbrink werd op 9 februari 1972 te Velsen geboren. Opleiding Alvorens zij in 1993 toelating deed aan het Rotterdams Conservatorium speelde zij vanaf haar 9e jaar (klassiek en jazz) piano, later ...

related works

Red, white and blues : Dutch new blues pieces, for piano, 1996-2006, Volume 1

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Piano
Instruments: pf

Der tolle Mensch : stem en ensemble, 2003 / Maarten Altena

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and large ensemble

Zwischen die Nachrichten : for soprano and mandoline orchestra, 1998 / on words by Nicolas Born, Bernard van Beurden

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and large ensemble
Instruments: sopr mand-orch

Instructions On How To Kill Ants In Rome (Version 2016) : for large jazz orchestra and voice / Renard A. Aust; on a text by Julio Cortázar

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and large ensemble
Instruments: voc fl/picc cl sax-a 3 sax-t fg 5trp 4trb trb-b tb 2perc g-e g pf db tapdancer



Spin : for soprano and ensemble, 1997-1998 / on words by Dylan Thomas, Astrid Kruisselbrink

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, 1998
Publisher's number: 09534
Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and large ensemble
Instruments: sopr 3perc pf 3vl 2vla 2vc cb
Remarks: Voor sopraan, piano, 3 slagwerkers, 3 violen, 2 altviolen, 2 cello's en contrabas. - Geschreven op verzoek van Het Eerste Doel. - Opgedragen aan Jasna Velickovic. - Cop. 1998. - Tijdsduur: ca. 8'
Duration: 8'00"
Number of players: 13
Year of composition: 1998
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Other authors:
Thomas, Dylan (librettist)
Program note (English): The basic idea for "Spin" is derived from the symbol ¿. This symbol led me to the idea of 'turning music' (strings), intersected by two movements (percussion). This symbol also determined the positioning of the musicians. The string players are to stand in a circle around the audience, not in sections but with the instrumental types intermingled. The percussionists are positioned at the four points of the compass. The soprano is the only one who breaks through this closed circuit. While in the first 'movement' she is still part of the ensemble, she later sings two text fragments by Dylan Thomas, which again refer indirectly to the principle of the symbol. During the first movement she crosses the circle, and at the end walks via the center to the piano (north) for the second movement. In writing this piece, I was inspired by the personality and music of Jasna Velickovic, a composer from Yugoslavia. This is why the composition is filled with anger, powerlessness and the
paralyzing feelings resulting from the situation in Belgrade, where Jasna Velickovic currently lives. - Astrid Kruisselbrink

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A3), 36 pages EUR 24.10
Download as PDF (A3), 36 pages EUR 28.92
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 36 pages EUR 48.21
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 36 pages EUR 32.80