Top, Edward

The music of composer Edward Top is characterized by extreme contrasts. Rather than being an abstract and independent medium existing outside the human experience, music has the power to induce ...

related works

String quartet : for string quartet, 1998 / Edward Top

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: String Quartet (2 violins, viola, cello)
Instruments: 2vl vla vc

Sonata : per flauto, clarinetto e cembalo / Henri Zagwijn

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-11 players)
Instruments: fl cl cemb

Torkest : suite voor accordeonorkest, 2001 / Cor van Meteren

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Accordion; Mixed ensemble (2-11 players)
Instruments: 3acc acc-b perc

Ommimeloog : per flauto dolce e clavicembalo, opus 104 / Louis Toebosch

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-11 players); Recorder and keyboard instrument
Instruments: rec-s cemb



The stillpoint : for violin and vibraphone, opus 4, 1994/1995 / Edward Top

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, 1998
Publisher's number: 09482
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-11 players)
Instruments: vibr vl
Remarks: Cop. 1997. - Tijdsduur: ca. 13'
Duration: 13'00"
Number of players: 2
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

In the silent croaking night
As the world turns
A pattern of timeless moments
The point of intersection of the timeless with time
Program note (English): The basic idea of this work is that two instruments are playing the same melodic material, sometimes in unison, but most of the time put together in asymmetrical rhythms. The piece has four movements, each of them with a subtitle. The first movement (in the silent croacking night) has a ‘mysterioso’ character. It consists of a melody, based on a six-tone mode, which is played several times in different tempos. The second movement (as the world turns) is more or less a unisonmelody that increases in tempo step by step. Little banal quotes taken from the massmedia are unrecognisably integrated in the modal sound. Through an ascending whole tone scale the third movement (a pattern of timeless moments), where this scale plays an important role, is reached. As indicated in the subtitle, this movement is a melodic pattern consisting of little mosaic-stones with mutually different characteristics; slow or fast, resoluto or mysterioso, unison or just about unison, molto brutale or
adagio desolato. This last germ cell (adagio desolato) will slowly grow to a high, final melody in the fourth movement. The final movement (the point of intersection of the timeless with time) opens with an enormous fortissimo where the vibraphonist lets a glissando ring. From the chromatic field that is sounding, one by one notes are being demped which I call a ‘negative’ melody (instead of a series of played tones set against a silent background (ordinary melody), now there are a series of silenced tones against a background consisting of all tones of the vibraphone ringing).
This point is the climax of the work. It is the pivot on which everything hangs. - EDWARD TOP

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda pagina.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download (A3), 30 pages EUR 21.61
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 30 pages EUR 43.23
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 30 pages EUR 29.50