Lann, Vanessa

General: Vanessa Lann was born on April 6, 1968 in New York. Education: Vanessa Lann has been a composer and pianist since the age of five. She studied composition with Ruth ...

related works

24 capriccio's voor viool solo

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Violin
Instruments: vl

Tweeluik : voor mezzosopraan en altfluit, 1999 / tekst: Herman Gorter en Willem Pijper, Jacques Bank

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and instrument(s)
Instruments: sopr-m fl-a

The Fox and the Wild Boar : for soprano and bassoon / Hans Koolmees

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and instrument(s)
Instruments: sopr fg

Recurring thoughts of a haunted traveller : for soprano and saxophone quartet, 1990 / words by Alison Welles, Tera de Marez Oyens

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and instrument(s)
Instruments: sopr sax-s sax-a sax-t sax-b



Coming home : for mezzo-soprano and ensemble, 1994 / on a poem by Richard Lann, Vanessa Lann

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, 1997
Publisher's number: 09241
Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and instrument(s)
Instruments: sopr-m rec cl(cl-b) trb perc el.g pf vl cb
Remarks: Instr. bez.: klarinet (tevens basklarinet), tenorblokfluit (tevens sopranino-, bas- en sopraanblokfluit), trombone, slagwerker, piano (tevens synthesizer), el. gitaar, viool en contrabas. - Tekst apart afgedrukt. - Geschreven voor het Maarten Altena Ensemble. - Met financiële steun van het Fonds voor de Scheppende Toonkunst. - Cop. 1997. - Tijdsduur: 16'
Duration: 16'00"
Number of players: 9
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Other authors:
Lann, Richard (librettist)
Program note (English): Through the ages human beings have tried to free themselves from the laws of nature, but they must always acknowledge that certain things are inevitable ruled by forces they can not control. Coming Home opens with a cycle of four symmetrical chords in which the members of the ensemble must sustain notes until running out of breath. As the speed of the music is defined entirely by the breath capacities of the players, this section has an undetermined length. The middle section of the piece illustrates the 'freedom' in modern society; with our systems (i.e. traditional musical notation) and technology (i.e. electric instruments) we can express ourselves in more ways than before. Is this entirely positive, or even possible? In the third section of the piece we return to the four chords from the opening - produced in a manner no longer as reliant on the breathing of the players but still forced into the same order. The melody of the middle section has introduced a 'freedom' to
these players; more importantly, however, their chords MUST exist as their pitches and rhythms were the original 'laws' that produced the melody in the first place. - VANESSA LANN

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda pagina.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download (A3), 22 pages EUR 18.29
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 22 pages EUR 36.59
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 22 pages EUR 25.10