Top, Edward

Edward Top was born in Ommen, the Netherlands, in 1972. Top has lived and worked in London, Bangkok, and Rotterdam. He now lives in Vancouver, Canada. Top studied composition and ...

related works

Helix (2022 revision) : for orchestra / Edward Top

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: 2fl 2ob 2cl 2fg 4h2tpt 3trb/trb-b tb timp 2perc hp pf str

Zápisník Zmizelého : = Tagebuch eines Verschollenen (1917-1919), für Tenor, Alt, drei Frauenstimmen und Ensemble, 1999 / bearb.: Geert van Keulen, Leos Janácek

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Vocal Ensemble (2-12) and large ensemble
Instruments: alt ten female voices (2sopr alt) 2fl(pic) ob eh(ob) cl fg cfg 2h 2trp 2trb perc cel(harm) hp 2vl vla vc cb

Quattro sonetti di Gaspara Stampa : per mezzosoprano, contralto e 14 strumenti, 1986-1987 / Elmer Schönberger

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Vocal Ensemble (2-12) and large ensemble
Instruments: sopr-m alt 2200 1110 perc cymb hp vl vla vc cb

O, gij, rhinoceros : voor vier vocalisten en instrumentaal ensemble, 1977 / Otto Ketting

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Vocal Ensemble (2-12) and large ensemble
Instruments: sopr sopr-m ten bar 1111 0100 perc pf 2vl vla vc cb



The overwhelming blankness of the ultimate meaninglessness of tragedy : for 2 ensembles, soprano and actor, 1995-1996 / words: Jorge Luis Borges, Octavio Paz, Amnesty International, Edward Top

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, 1996
Publisher's number: 09054
Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Vocal Ensemble (2-12) and large ensemble
Instruments: sopr recit 1111 1110 perc vibr hp pf 2vl vla vc cb
Remarks: Acteur tevens spreekstem. - Bez. ensemble 1: hobo (tevens althobo), fagot, hoorn, harp, vibrafoon, viool, altviool en cello; bez. ensemble 2: fluit, klarinet (tevens es-klarinet), trompet, trombone, piano, slagwerker, viool en contrabas. - Spaanse en Engelse tekst. - In opdracht van Het Eerste Doel. - Cop. 1996. - Tijdsduur: ca. 20'
Duration: 20'00"
Number of players: 18
Year of composition: 1996
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Other authors:
Borges, Jorge Luis (librettist)
Paz, Octavio (librettist)
Program note (English): The point of departure of this work is a duality based on the 'Dea'h and Disaster' series of silscreen prints by Andy Warhol, especially his "Blue Electric Chair'. Each painting in this serie consists of two panels, one with a representation of a "disaster" (a car accident or an electric chair for example) in one tint against a background colour, while the other panel consists of only this background colour. The contrast of this blank panel next to a shocking depiction leads to controversy: the overwhelming blankness of the ultimate meaninglessness of tragedy. Translated into music this duality is formed by the two ensembles, which each have their own characteristic sound. One has the character of a subdued, resigned esthetics (very soft and slow, orderly material: for example, every note has its own instrumentation and register from F below central C to three octaves higher, the soprano often sings not more than two widely spaced intervals, the instrumentation consists of soft
instruments, such as vibraphone, harp, some strings and woodwinds). The other ensemble characterizes disaster (everything very harsh, loud and complex, chromatic, erratic playing techniques such as clusters, flutter tonguing, scratching sounds, a lot of percussion, loud brass and squeeling woodwinds, violin and double bass). Similarly, the text may also be divided into this duality. The texts by Jorge Luis Borges and Octavio Paz, sung by the soprano, describe a vision of dying, in which hopefully a hint of the world to come is revealed. This forms a violent contrast to the text of the actor, which is a very direct description of what happens to someone being executed on the electric chair. - EDWARD TOP

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A3), 50 pages EUR 29.91
Download as PDF (A3), 50 pages EUR 35.89
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 50 pages EUR 59.83
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 50 pages EUR 40.50