Leeuw, Ton de

Ton de Leeuw was born on November 16, 1926 in Rotterdam. He died on May 31, 1996 in Paris (France). In 1949, after some years of composition lessons with Henk Badings, ...

related works

Neue Niederländische Klaviermusik : = Contemporary Dutch piano music, Heft 1 = Book 1 / mit Werken von = containing works by J. Andriessen, R. du Bois, G. Janssen ... [et al.], herausgegeben von = edited by Ton Hartsuiker

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Piano
Instruments: pf

Litaniae Lauretanae : for mixed choir and baroque ensemble / František Ignác Antonín Tuma; transcribed and edited by Cees Wagemakers

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir and instruments
Instruments: GK4 corn fg trb-a trb-ten 2vn vc violone org

Lamento pacis III : for choir and instruments on texts of Erasmus / Ton de Leeuw

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir and instruments; Mixed choir
Instruments: 4sopr 4alt 4ten 4bas (picc vla ad lib.)

En wat dan? : voor kamerkoor, klarinet, strijkkwintet en slagwerk, 1998, op een gedicht van Jotie T'Hooft / Gerard Beljon

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir and instruments
Instruments: GK4 cl 2 perc 2 vl vla vc cb



Lamento pacis I : for choir and instruments / on texts of Erasmus, Ton de Leeuw

Publisher: Amsterdam: Donemus, cop. 1969
Publisher's number: 07811
Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir and instruments
Instruments: 4sopr 4alt 4ten 4bas 2perc 2vl 2vla 2cb
Remarks: Voor koor S(4)A(4)T(4)B(4), 2 violen, 2 altviolen, 2 contrabassen en 2 slagwerkers. - Ook bekend o.d.t. Homage to Gesualdo di Venosa. - De 3 delen van Lamento Pacis kunnen ook zelfstandig worden uitgevoerd. - Nederlandse vert. uitsluitend apart afgedrukt. - In opdracht van het ministerie van Cultuur. - Jaar van comp.: 1969. - Tijdsduur: ca. 7'
Duration: 7'00"
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Other authors:
Erasmus, Desiderius (librettist)
Program note (English): (Première: June 14, 1969 - NCRV Vocal Ensemble and Percussion Group Amsterdam, Marinus Voorberg, conducting - Holland Festival) -
Erasmus completed Querela Pacis in 1517. This complaint of peace provides us with a striking view of the restless political situation in those years. It contains a large number of protests against nearly all the leading persons and institutions from political, social and religious life, and culminates in a call for true peace, which in its failure is just as pathetic as corresponding pleas from our time. Nothing than the works in Erasmus' oeuvre can better function as a bridge to our own time. This text was the foundation of a composition for a 16 voiced choir and eight instrumentalists. Only some selected fragments were used from the original text. I was more concerned about the moral aspects of the contents and the direct understanding of it. . This comprehension is nearly excluded because the choir sings the original Latin version, and by the complex manner of textual treatment. The composition has three movements, which greatly differ in character from each other (they can be also
be performed separately). The first movement characterises itself by large, monolithic block-systems, which are opposite to each other. For that purpose the performers are separated into two spatial groups. These passages are interrupted by smaller, more transparent fragments, which have an entirely different character, among others due to the multiple use of microtones. Microtones are in our time what chromaticism was in the time of Gesualdo da Venosa. For this reason this movement is a homage to this Italian master. - TON DE LEEUW

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A3), 42 pages EUR 26.59
Download as PDF (A3), 42 pages EUR 31.91
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 42 pages EUR 53.19
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 42 pages EUR 36.10