Knehans, Douglas

Though first known through his collaboration with director Barrie Kosky in the Opera Australia production of his The Ascension of Robert Flau (1990), Douglas Knehans (b. 1957) is perhaps best ...

related works

Black City : Concerto for violoncello and orchestra Nº 2 / Douglas Knehans

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: vc-solo dulc pf hp sopr(offstage) 2fl(picc) 2ob 2cl 2fg(cfg) 4h 2tpt 2trb-t trb-b tb timp 3perc str

Rapsodia e danza : per due flauti e orchestra, (1972-'73) / Robert de Roos

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Flute and orchestra
Instruments: 1223 2220 timp perc str 2fl-solo

Danses : voor fluit en orkest / Robert de Roos

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Flute and orchestra
Instruments: 1130 2100 timp str( fl-solo

Aria : for flute and orchestra, 1987 / Tristan Keuris

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Flute and orchestra
Instruments: 3232 4000 2perc cel hp str fl-solo



Tempest : Concerto for flute and orchestra / Douglas Knehans

Publisher's number: 21309
Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Flute and orchestra
Instruments: fl-solo 2fl(picc) ob eh cl cl-b fg cfg 2h tpt trb trb-b tbb timp 2perc hp str
Remarks: Dedicated to Gareth Davies
Duration: 20'00"
Year of composition: 2014
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

The title of this work refers to rough wind. When I was approached me about a new flute work the idea of a virtuosic wind player set my imagination to types of crazy, unrestrained wind. This led me to look into the natural occurrences of wild, unpredictable wind patterns around the world. This led in turn to the titles of the three movements: Ostro the traditional name of the southerly wind in the Mediterranean sea; Mistral, a cold northerly from central France and the Alps to Mediterranean–this movement I have also allied to the notion of a type of funeral march, hence the title Mistral… Funerailles with the cold wind perhaps summoning the notion of death and impermanence. Finally, the last frantic and virtuosic movement is titled Etesian which references a strong, dry north wind of the Aegean Sea which is most of the time a good steady sailing wind. The well-contained and metrical virtuosity of this movement seems to align with this welcome and sustaining wind that is good for travel.
In artistically interpreting all of these types of global wind patterns I have tried to invest a dramatic and virtuosic element to the corresponding wind music. I was asked for a piece without restrictions and so a concerto seemed the obvious vehicle for the soloist’s awesome technical power and completely beautiful musicianship. I am extremely fortunate to have Gareth Davies, principal flute of the London Symphony Orchestra, as the soloist for this work.
Douglas Knehans

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A3), 48 pages EUR 29.08
Download as PDF (A3), 48 pages EUR 34.90
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 48 pages EUR 58.17
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 48 pages EUR 39.40