Knehans, Douglas

Though first known through his collaboration with director Barrie Kosky in the Opera Australia production of his The Ascension of Robert Flau (1990), Douglas Knehans (b. 1957) is perhaps best ...

related works

Soar : Concerto for violoncello and orchestra Nº 1 / Douglas Knehans

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Cello and orchestra
Instruments: vc-solo 2fl(picc) 2ob 2cl 2fg 2h tpt trb-b tb timp perc hp str

Chantecler : ouverture voor orkest, (1972) / Hendrik Andriessen

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: 2222 4330 timp perc str

Running from silence : for orchestra, 2005 / Joey Roukens

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: 2fl(pic) fl(fl-a) ob ob(eh) 3cl 2fg 4h 3trp 2trb tb timp 3perc pf(cel) hp str

Toccata : Cantate 3, for orchestra, 1999 / Hans Koolmees

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: 5555 sax-s 4441 6perc hp 2pf str



Cascade (Symphony Nº 2) : Concerto for orchestra / Douglas Knehans

Publisher's number: 21292
Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: piss 2fl 2ob eh 3cl cl-b 2fg cfg 4h 3tpt 2trb-t trb-b tp timp perc hp str
Duration: 25'00"
Year of composition: 2010
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Cascade was written in response to a request for a new work for two pianos from the extraordinary Pridonoff Duo.
As I began to think about the work the idea of piano resonance started to capture my imagination. I began to think about this awesome ‘glow’ of sound that occurs after the keys are struck and how these waves of sound – lustrous, velvety pools of resonance – hang in the air. I began to think of these sounds as clouds or water and the various forms these take in the natural world. This, in turn, led me to reflect on the endlessly varied forms of water or cloud that inspired the three movement titles: drift echo, waves and torrent.
Into this creative amalgam of ideas also was the type of work the Pridonoffs and I had discussed: a multi-movement work of around 20 minutes. I thought of this in a traditional fast–slow–fast arrangement of movements since I wanted to honor their amazing technical prowess in the outer movements and have these surround a central, expressive, somewhat darker middle movement.
As I began to think about and increasingly as I set to work on the piece, the idea took hold that perhaps this two piano piece – extravagant and bold, colorful and expressive, playful and lyrical in turns – would also orchestrate into a wonderful and dazzling vehicle for large orchestra. So, in the fall of 2010, just months after completing work on the two piano version I set about the task of orchestrating the work into its current guise as cascade – concerto for orchestra.
The title and order of the movements is unchanged from the original version and I hope captures the energy, expressive intimacy and muscular drama that the Pridonoff Duo so powerfully projected in the two piano version.
Douglas Knehans

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A3), 88 pages EUR 45.68
Download as PDF (A3), 88 pages EUR 54.82
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 88 pages EUR 91.37
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 88 pages EUR 61.40