Nielson, Lewis

Lewis Nielson (b. 1950) studied music at the Royal Academy of Music in London, England, Clark University in Massachusetts and the University of Iowa, receiving a Ph.D. in Music Theory ...

related works

Tocsin (Die fünf Jahreszeiten) : for percussion sextet / Lewis Nielson

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Percussion
Instruments: 6perc

Trio : pour hautbois, clarinette & bassoon / Fania Chapiro

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Wood Wind ensemble (2-12 players)
Instruments: cl ob fg

Rondeau : for 3 woodwinds / Fania Chapiro

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Wood Wind ensemble (2-12 players)
Instruments: cl ob fg

Humoreske : for wind ensemble / Israel Olman

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Wood Wind ensemble (2-12 players)
Instruments: fl ob eh cl sax bn 2hn



alito, gémito : for woodwind quartet / Lewis Nielson

Publisher's number: 20862
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Wood Wind ensemble (2-12 players)
Instruments: fl ob cl fg
Remarks: Written for the Georgia Woodwind Quartet. Dedicated to the GWQ, Richard Hoffmann and William Davis.
Number of players: 4
Year of composition: 2001-2002
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

alito, gémito is Italian for breathe, groan. I do not mean or intend any programmaticism by this; the progress and structure of the work, while open to a large number of interpretations (pictorial or literary), is not based on any particular event, object, or artifact. Like most of my recent pieces, this work is about the transformation of abstract material from one kind of sound into (and out of) another. The first movement, (Aequisonus), I, dedicated to my dear friend and spiritual father Richard Hoffmann, compresses and expands the pitch content of Schubert’s profound lied “Der Lindenbaum” from Die Winterreise. The concept of doing this stems from Richard’s incredible Memento Mori, although the actual processes are all my own. One should attend, however, to the sound in being and not interpolate all of the harmonic motions from the “source” (if that is even the right word), many of which are heavily veiled. Movement II (Quid es musica), the first composed work, is dedicated to my admired friend, William Davis. All parts are intrinsically related in pitch to each other for this movement and throughout the entire work but the almost total focus is on the transformation of these relations through the use of unconventional tone production rather than pitch obscures the more conventional structure, creating a new one based almost entirely mutating strands of lightly pitched contours and shadow sounds. The performers must be very sensitive to the gradations of sound far more than mere pitch accuracy or absolute constancy of rhythm. This kind of thinking about music has become a key feature of most of my recent works, part of a continuing process of integrating a constantly submerging pitch structure with a more dominant timbre focus, a process notable in almost everything I have written since 1991 but most clearly manifest in the Gargantuan bassoon solo Around…Among…Within of 1999, also written for Bill Davis.
Lewis Nielson

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A4), 88 pages EUR 30.70
Download as PDF (A4), 88 pages EUR 36.84
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 88 pages EUR 61.40
Parts Download to Newzik (A4), 82 pages EUR 29.05
Download as PDF (A4), 82 pages EUR 34.86
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 82 pages EUR 58.10