Veldhuizen, Rick van

Rick van Veldhuizen (*1994, Tilburg), while raised on a wide variety of music, only discovered classical music at the age of 11, and started composing almost simultaneously. Education: Starting in 2008, ...

related works

Rimpelingen (Concerto Nº 4) : Arrangement for cello and piano / Jan-Peter de Graaff; arranged by Rick van Veldhuizen

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Cello and keyboard instrument
Instruments: vc pf

Double Concerto : for two violins and string orchestra / Michael Fine

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Violin and string orchestra
Instruments: 2vn str

Music for USC : five pieces for a cappella choir, opus 79, 1980 / Marius Flothuis

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir; Male voice choir; Women
Instruments: GK4 VK4 MK5

Concerto pour violon et orchestre : 1975 / Rob du Bois

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Violin and orchestra
Instruments: 4232 2sax 4321 perc hp 2el.g man pf( str vl-solo



weltjugend U6 [1984] : for reed quintet and electronics / Rick van Veldhuizen

Publisher's number: 20339
Genre: Electronical music
Subgenre: Wood Wind ensemble (2-12 players) with electronics
Instruments: ob cl sax-s cl-b fg tape
Remarks: nexus reedquartet‘s choice pick and runner-up in the 2012-2013 Calefax PAN competition. Premiered on 23 November 2013 by the nexus reedquintet in Lucerne, Switzerland.
Duration: 8'30"
Number of players: 5
Year of composition: 2012
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

In Berlin, in 1984, while the city was divided, some underground lines serving the West-Berlin underground passed underneath the eastern part of the city, passing multiple dimly-lit stations without stopping. One of those stations was Stadion der Weltjugend (now: Schwartzkopffstraße) on the current line U6, which was a ghost station for all of the Cold War, which didn’t prevent the GDR authorities to rename it not once, but twice. weltjugend U6 [1984] paints the dilapidated station, where only aural clues – of passing trains, of rock music on broken radios, of dripping water, remain at this station. In the middle of the piece, the impression of the station breaks down into a desperate, violent cry of help – the youth of the world trying to undo the mistakes of generations upon generations of their ancestors.
Rick van Veldhuizen

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (B4), 20 pages EUR 14.62
Download as PDF (B4), 20 pages EUR 17.55
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 20 pages EUR 29.25
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 20 pages EUR 24.00
Parts Download to Newzik (B4), 26 pages EUR 16.63
Download as PDF (B4), 26 pages EUR 19.96
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 26 pages EUR 33.27
Electro-acoustic Download, 3 files, 0.047 MB EUR 15.00