Faegre, Brendan

The music of Brendan Faegre (b. 1985, USA) unites the traditions within which he was formed: jazz and rock drumming, Hindustani classical, and contemporary concert music. Faegre's music has been performed around the ...

related works

Lys-slått : for baroque violin / Brendan Faegre

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Violin
Instruments: vln

Quasi una fantasia à 3 : Version for flute, viola and harp / Daan Manneke

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-12 players)
Instruments: fl vla hp

Liefdeslied : for wind quintet and piano / Israel Olman

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-12 players)
Instruments: fl cl ob hn bn pf

Tusk : for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and percussion / Ned McGowan

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-12 players)
Instruments: fl cl vl vc perc



From the Asphalt to the Spires : for carillon and percussion / Brendan Faegre

Publisher's number: 20115
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-12 players)
Instruments: car 4perc
Remarks: Commissioned by Slagwerk Den Haag. Premiere: Slagwerk Den Haag and Gijsbert Kok on 7 June 2017 around the Grote Kerk, The Hague (NL).
Duration: 10'00"
Number of players: 5
Year of composition: 2017
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

As part of an exhibition celebrating Dutch sculptor Auke de Vries’s 80th birthday, Slagwerk Den Haag asked me to compose a new work based on one of Auke’s concepts: a conversation between the bells of a carillon and percussionists elevated to the same height.
From the Asphalt to the Spires surrounds the carillon with percussionists on adjacent balconies, rooftops, and particularly resonant alcoves. The carillon was designed to be heard throughout the city, and through the dialogues and arguments between percussion and bells, the carillon’s massive sonic reach is made visible. New connections are made between the architecture, space, and sounds of the city.
Brendan Faegre

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A4), 16 pages EUR 10.90
Download as PDF (A4), 16 pages EUR 13.08
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 16 pages EUR 21.80
Parts Download to Newzik (A4), 33 pages EUR 15.57
Download as PDF (A4), 33 pages EUR 18.69
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 33 pages EUR 31.15