Graaff, Jan-Peter de

Jan-Peter de Graaff (*1992), born in Papendrecht and raised on the isle of Terschelling, started composing at the age of 15. After two years of private lessons in composition with ...

related works

And We All Look at the Sea... : for chamber choir / Jan-Peter de Graaff; text by the composer, after Händel's 'Children of Israel'

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK4

Suite : voor 2 fluiten en piano, 1956 / Jan van Dijk

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Flute and keyboard instrument
Instruments: 2fl pf

Suite : voor alt-blokfluit en clavecimbel, 1963 / Antoon Maessen

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-11 players); Flute and keyboard instrument
Instruments: rec-a cemb / fl pf

In memoriam George Antheil : (Het verkeerde been), voor fluit en piano, 1999 / Jan Bus

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Flute and keyboard instrument
Instruments: fl pf



Meccanica : for piccolo and piano / Jan-Peter de Graaff

Publisher's number: 19868
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Flute and keyboard instrument
Instruments: picc pf
Remarks: Commissioned by Dutch Piccolo Project, with financial support of Fonds Podiumkunsten (Dutch Performing Arts Fund). Written for Ilonka Kolthof and Ralph van Raat. First performance: August 11, 2019, Hermitage Amsterdam.
Duration: 7'00"
Number of players: 2
Year of composition: 2019
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Meccanica is inspired by both the kinetic sculptures of Jean Tinguely as the 'Strandbeesten' by Dutch artist Theo Jansen. The piccolo and the piano are intertwined in a musical game of transferring 'musical kinetic' energy, from 'linear' to 'circular' rhythmic and melodic movements. But, just as the sculptures by Theo Jansen, never in a direct straight line. The piece sometimes stops, turns and feels clunky. Both the piccolo and piano can sometimes sound as one instrument in unison or can sound like two or even more separate instruments using different colours and playing techniques in counterpoint. The poetry is found between the 'mechanics' of the piece, when linear and circular movements together suddenly sound strikingly emotional.

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download (B4), 18 pages EUR 13.95
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 18 pages EUR 27.91
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 18 pages EUR 22.90
Parts Download (B4), 6 pages EUR 9.93
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 6 pages EUR 19.87