6 Masses & 7 Motets (Volume II) : for 4, 5, 6 and 8 voices / Alonso Lobo; transcribed and edited by Cees Wagemakers

Publisher's number: 16231
Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Mixed choir
Instruments: GK
Remarks: Early Music Edition.
Year of composition: 1602
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

Other authors:
Lobo, Alonso (composer)
Wagemakers, Cees (editor)
Missa supra Petre, ego pro te rogavi
7 Motets: Ave Maria
Missa supra Simile est regnum celorum
Missa supra O Rex gloriae
7 Motets: O quam suavis est
7 Motets: Quam pulchri sunt
7 Motets: Ave Regina caelorum
7 Motets: Versa est in luctum
7 Motets: Credo quod Redemptor vivit
7 Motets: Vivo ego, dicit Dominus
The masses are all parody masses, which means that an earlier work - sacred or profane - was the basis for the new music. In those days this was no plagiarism. It was an homage to the maker of the earlier work. All the masses are based on motets by Guerrero, except O Rex gloriæ; this was a motet by Palestrina.
Because of this I have added the preposition supra in the titles of the masses, though it was not in the original titles. In later literature the mass Maria Magdalena is often spelled as Maria Magdalene; this must be wrong because the mass is a parody on the motet Maria Magdalena et altera Maria by Guerrero.
Presented here in 2 volumes are 6 masses and 7 motets from a printed choirbook of the Toledo cathedral, and scanned to the internet by the Répertoire International de Sources Musicales. The scans on the internet have a watermark of the Vatican Library. It was printed in Madrid in 1602 by Johannes Flandrum as Liber Primus Missarum (RISM L2588 - First Book of Masses). Flandrum was a Fleming working at the Spanish royal court.

Cees Wagemakers

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download (A4), 136 pages EUR 43.90
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 136 pages EUR 87.80