Brewaeys, Luc

Luc Brewaeys was born on August 25, in 1959 in Mortsel (Belgium) and passed away on December 18, in 2015. Education: He studied composition with André Laporte in Brussels (Belgium), with ...

related works

Due cose belle ha il mondo: l’amore e la morte... : for piano solo, chamber orchestra and live-electronics / Luc Brewaeys

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra with electronics

Grenspost Zinnenwald : opera / libretto: Marjolein Bierens, Chiel Meijering

Genre: Opera, musical theatre
Subgenre: Opera

Agnete : Opera in 1 acte / Israel Olman

Genre: Opera, musical theatre
Subgenre: Opera

De gans : kameropera in één acte, 1982 / muziek: Kees Olthuis, libretto: Jean Paul Franssens

Genre: Opera, musical theatre
Subgenre: Opera
Instruments: sopr-m bar bas 1111 1110 perc pf 2vl vla vc cb



L’uomo dal fiore in bocca : Opera in one act / Luc Brewaeys; libretto by the composer after Luigi Pirandello / Torquato Tasso

Publisher's number: 13624
Genre: Opera, musical theatre
Subgenre: Opera
Instruments: voc 2fl(picc, fl-a) ob eh 2cl(cl-b) 2fg 4h 3trp 2trb tb-b 3perc hp str
Duration: 45'00"
Year of composition: 2006
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

This work was commissioned by the Belgian National Opera. Bernard Foccroulle, the director, proposed me the theatre text by Luigi Pirandello and after reading it I immediately felt it was an extremely suitable text for me to set. I worked on the original text, which was too long for a 45-minutes opera, together with my wife Birgit Van Cleemput. We had done this before (as far as in 1989) for "Non lasciate ogni speranza". The piece starts as a dialogue but evolves into a monologue of "the man with the flower in the mouth". In the course of the play the wife of the man is mentioned, but since she's not speaking we got the idea to "transpose" the presence of the woman by adding three female voices to the orchestra in the pit. For musical reasons I want them to remain "present" till the end of the work, so we needed to find another (preferably also italian) text to be sung. We finally chose a poem by Torquato Tasso : "Vivrò fra I miei tormenti" which we felt is close to the emotional context of the Pirandello play.

The work is -in a sense- also a Tuba concerto, as the tuba is the instrumental counterpart of "l'uomo". In the center of the opera "l'uomo" sings an almost 5-minutes long "aria" along with the tuba without any other instrument. At the end, the tuba also plays the last reminiscence of the main musical gesture.

The first performance took place on February 9, 2007 at the Royal National Opera (La Monnaie) in Brussels. Patrick Davin conducted the orchestra of the National Opera, Davide Damiani sang the title role, Stephan Vanaenrode played his alter-ego on the tuba while Yves Saelens sang the client role. Frédéric Dussenne staged the work with stage design by Vincent Lemaire.

I dedicate this score to Johan Huys, a dear friend wo has given me much of advice and who always has been one of my best musical critics, also -by the way- during the composition of this opera. I also dedicate the score to the memory of my father in law and composer Werner Van Cleemput who passed away last summer.

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (A3), 88 pages EUR 45.68
Download as PDF (A3), 88 pages EUR 54.82
Hardcopy, normal size (A3), 88 pages EUR 91.37
Piano Reduction Download to Newzik (B4), 92 pages EUR 38.74
Download as PDF (B4), 92 pages EUR 46.49
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 92 pages EUR 77.49