Brewaeys, Luc

Luc Brewaeys was born on August 25, in 1959 in Mortsel (Belgium) and passed away on December 18, in 2015. Education: He studied composition with André Laporte in Brussels (Belgium), with ...

related works

.., e poi c’era… : Symphony Nº 1 / Luc Brewaeys

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: 3fl 3ob 3cl 3fg 4h 3trp 3trb tb 4perc hp pf perc

Trajet : for piano, ring modulator and ensemble / Luc Brewaeys

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Piano and large ensemble
Instruments: pf-solo fl ob cl fg h 2perc str

Arágara : for flute, violin and viola, 1974, revision 1991 / Kees Schoonenbeek

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Wind and string instrument(s)
Instruments: fl vl vla

Miroir de peine : for soprano and organ, 1923 / Hendrik Andriessen ; text: Henri Ghéon

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and Organ
Instruments: sopr org



Painted Pyramids : for ensemble and live-electronics / Luc Brewaeys

Publisher's number: 13619
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Piano and large ensemble
Instruments: fl(fl-a) vln vc perc hp pf elec
Duration: 16'00"
Year of composition: 2006/2008
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

"Painted Pyramids" has been commissioned by the Ensemble Champ d'Action who will first perform the work in the fall of 2009 conducted by Jaan Bossier (probably) with Yutaka Oya (sure) at the piano.

The work is a comment on my solo piano piece "Pyramids in Siberia" which I composed back in 1989. Since long I had the intention to extend the original music and this occasion seemed a good opportunity to do so. There are (almost) no changes in the original piano part, I just added notes and enriched the instrumental colours with the other instruments and the live-electronics which are actually very simple, because I use (only) three ringmodulators.

"Pyramids" is a piece with many harmonics in the piano, and those harmonics are somehow amplified in "Painted Pyramids", just like the final (extremely fast) toccata is made even more virtuoso with the  harmonical as well as coloristic additions.

I dedicate this score to my ex-pupil and highly talented composer Annelies Van Parys, who became a friend.

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (B4), 66 pages EUR 30.03
Download as PDF (B4), 66 pages EUR 36.04
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 66 pages EUR 60.07
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 66 pages EUR 49.30
Parts Download to Newzik (A4), 93 pages EUR 32.07
Download as PDF (A4), 93 pages EUR 38.49
Hardcopy, normal size (A4), 93 pages EUR 64.15