Brewaeys, Luc

Luc Brewaeys was born on August 25, in 1959 in Mortsel (Belgium) and passed away on December 18, in 2015. Education: He studied composition with André Laporte in Brussels (Belgium), with ...

related works

.., e poi c’era… : Symphony Nº 1 / Luc Brewaeys

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Orchestra
Instruments: 3fl 3ob 3cl 3fg 4h 3trp 3trb tb 4perc hp pf perc

Sinequan : for violoncello (amplified and delay), 1993 / Hanna Kulenty

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Cello; Electronics with different instruments; Cello with electronics
Instruments: vc (ampl.)

Cello concerto : for one cellist & tape, 1986 / Tera de Marez Oyens

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Cello; Electronics with different instruments; Cello with electronics
Instruments: vc tape

Punto Intenso contra Remisso : for cello and electronics / Ángel Arranz

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Cello with electronics
Instruments: vc electronics



Black Rock Unfolding : for violoncello and live-electronics / Luc Brewaeys

Publisher's number: 13616
Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Cello with electronics
Instruments: vc elec
Duration: 17'00"
Number of players: 1
Year of composition: 2009 (rev. 2010)
Status: fully digitized (real-time delivery)

"Black Rock Unfolding" has been commissioned by Mr. Guillaume Van Mechelen, a 81 years old man who attended a performance of my opera "L'uomo dal fiore in bocca" two years ago and decided to give me a commission for one instrument with live-electronics. Because the Ensemble Champ d'Action, for which I composed "OBAN" back in 1996, was organizing a series of concerts for the occasion of my 50th Birthday, we decided the work would be composed for cellist Arne Deforce, who had been asking me to write a piece for him since many years.

The title of the piece refers to my last ensemble piece "Cardhu" (written in 2008 for the Spectra Ensemble). Cardhu is a gealic word meaning black rock. I developed and/or extended some harmonic and rhythmic ideas of that work, hence the unfolding.

The live-electronics consist of three elements, a "freeze" reverberation system which allows the cellist to build chords out of the music he's playing and which can be heard whenever indicated with the use of a volume pedal, a ring modulator and finally some prerecorded audio fragments. These audio fragments are based on cello samples mixed with resonances of piano, bells and water drops sounds. These electronics were realized with the help of Champ d'Action, with special thanks to Roel Das.

The piece is in one continuous movement in roughly five sections, slow-fast-slow-fast-slow. The first section is some kind of presentation of the main material, basically slow but very virtuoso and with lots of sudden changes in dynamics and speed. The second section is a very rhythmical passage with steady (fast) pulse. The third is a slow development of material heard in the first section. The fourth section is an extended kind of extremely hectic cadenza with amplifying "accompaniment" by what gradually becomes almost an army of cellos. After its climax, the music becomes quite rapidly slow again, to end (similarly as "Cardhu") very quietly and in the high regions of the instrument's range.

The score is dedicated to Arne Deforce, who first performed the piece on November 7, 2009 in AMUZ, Antwerp (B), as part of Champ d'Action's Birthday concert, and to Guillaume Van Mechelen.

If you are going to perform this composition, you can enter your concert information here. We will publish this information at the Donemus Facebook page and in the Donemus Concert Agenda.
You can buy the parts or other related products on-line. If you choose a downloadable product you will receive the product in digital form. In all other cases the product is sent to you physically. Please note that you require a copy of this product for every user.
Product Description Price/piece Count
Score Download to Newzik (B4), 26 pages EUR 16.63
Download as PDF (B4), 26 pages EUR 19.96
Hardcopy, normal size (B4), 26 pages EUR 33.27
Hardcopy, study size (A4), 26 pages EUR 27.30