all works

51 works in Donemus catalogue

popular works

The Bell (4th Symphony) : for cello and orchestra / Victoria Vita Poleva

Genre: Orchestra
Subgenre: Cello and orchestra
Scoring: vc-solo picc fl2 ob2 ca cl2 cl-b fg2 fg-b h4 tp3 trb3 perc pf hrp cel vl2 vla vc db

Soul (Душа) : for violin and piano / Victoria Poleva

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Violin and keyboard instrument
Scoring: vn pf

Mono no aware : for percussion, piano and violin / Victoria Vita Poleva

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Mixed ensemble (2-12 players)
Scoring: vn pf perc

latest edition

Liebesbotschaft : for violin and piano / Victoria Poleva

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Violin and keyboard instrument
Scoring: vn pf



Poleva, Victoria

Victoria Vita Polevá (also spelled:  Ukrainian: Вікторія Польова) is a Ukrainian pianist and composer. Born in Kyiv on 11 September 1962 to a family of musicians. She studied with, respectively, Ivan Karabyts and Levko Kolodub at the Kyiv Conservatory, where she herself taught composition from 1990 to 2005.
Her earlier works, such as the ballet “Gagaku”, “Transform” for large orchestra and “Anthem” for chamber orchestra, favour avant-garde and polystylistic aesthetics. From the late 1990s, she became ever more drawn to spiritual themes and musical simplicity and so she developed a style which has latterly been identified as ‘sacred minimalism’.
Poleva's works have been commissioned by numerous exponents of new music, not the least Gidon Kremer in 2005 for “Sempre Primavera” and 2010 for “The Art of Instrumentation”, and the Kronos Quartet  “Walking on Waters” in 2013. In 2009, her “Ode to Joy” to the verses of Schiller was heard at a concert to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall.
Among the performers of her works are: Keri-Lynn Wilson, Volodymyr Sirenko, Roman Kofman, Vladimir Jurowski, Daniel Raiskin, Simon Camartin, Mykola Gobdich. Her works are heard in such halls as the Berlin Philharmonic, Barbican Hall, Royal Festival Hall, Carnegie Hall and others.
In 2022 Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra did the English premiere of “Nova”, conductor Andrey Boreyko. In 2023, her concerto for Cello and symphony orchestra “The Bell” was commissioned by London Philharmonics Orchestra. The premiere of this work will take place in Dallas in November 2023, conductor Kirill Karabits. Also, her Symphonie Nr.3 “White Interment” is participating in Europatournee of Bayerische Staatsoper, conductor Vladimir Jurowski.
Victoria Poleva is a Laureate of Shevchenko National Prize of Ukraine. Her recordings are published by Naxos.