all works

18 works in Donemus catalogue

popular works

Tyrvi : for electric guitar / Aspasia Nasopoulou

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Guitar
Scoring: g-el

Nachtwerk : Version for string quartet / Aspasia Nasopoulou

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: String Quartet (2 violins, viola, cello)
Scoring: 2vln vla vc

Four Miniatures : for basset recorder, bass recorder and baritone / Aspasia Nasopoulou

Genre: Vocal music
Subgenre: Voice and instrument(s)
Scoring: 2rec bar

latest edition

Dans voor Orpheus van Amsterdam : for recorder quartet (playing on Renaissance recorders) / Aspasia Nasopoulou

Genre: Chamber music
Subgenre: Recorder
Scoring: 4rec



Nasopoulou, Aspasia

Website: Aspasia Nasopoulou

Aspasia Nasopoulou (Athens, 1972) is living and working in Amsterdam.
She studied piano at the Conservatory of Piraeus and composition at the N.Skalkottas Conservatory in Athens and received a BSc. degree in Geology from the University of Athens.
With a scholarship from the Propondis Foundation she completed her master studies in Composition in 2005 at the Conservatory of Amsterdam with Wim Henderickx and specialization: ‘contemporary music in combination with contemporary dance’.
In her recent work she focuses on the use of form and content of various texts for finding new structures for her music. e.g. ‘Nachtwerk’ for string quartet and narrator on seven poems by Micha Hamel.
The strong foundation that comes from her classical background gives her work organically expressiveness that comes out as a gentle contemporary lyricism. She manages to evoke a great intimacy in compositions for unusual combinations of instruments such as ‘Three Love Haikus’ for percussion and cello.
In 2012 she received the incentive prize from MCN & Donemus with the piece ‘Lelia Doura’ based on a cantiga d’amigo for the Seldom Sene recorders quintet.
She received in 2014 the Jury- and Audience prizes in Tristan Keuris Componisten Concours with the piece ‘Nanourisma’ for piano, flute and bassoon.

The collaboration of the past three years with four accordionists from The Netherlands, Greece, Finland and Denmark resulted in seven pieces for solo accordion and accordion in combination with other instruments. Among them: the Perivoli for accordion and string quartet, New kite for accordion and piano Five single breaths for accordion and Japanese Sho.

Her pieces have been commissioned and are performed regularly by acclaimed soloists and ensembles internationally. Among them: Nicolas Horvath- Glass Worlds-Hommages to Philip Glass, Paris 2014.
DoelenKwartet & Micha Hamel-Poetry International Rotterdam 2014. Eva Tebbe a.o.-Harp Festival Utrecht 2014. Timo Kinnunen-Haäpavesi Folk Music Festival 2011. Miako Klein & Sava Stoianov-Frankfurter Gesellschaft fur Neue Musik 2010. Theo Milkov-Grachtenfestival 2009 and Percussion Festival in Paris 2005. Alma Mahler Sinfonietta- Mecrogliano Music Festival. Anna Veismane (Lv), Duo Macle (It), Konstantinos Raptis (Gr), Concord ensemble (Irl), Adam Ørvad (Dk), Trygve Brøske (No), Zoe Zeniodi (US).